Stoning Lindsey Stone


A Lesson in Counter-Stupidity

The outrage over this picture of Lindsey Stone flipping off a sign at Arlington National Cemetery is understandable (read related story HERE). What is not acceptable, however, is the overreaction of — last I checked — almost 17K people who have joined a Facebook page demanding that she be terminated by her employer.

We can question Lindsey’s motives all day long. We can voice our opposition to her behavior. We can mourn the fact that one of our most sacred national monuments — and the memory of those who’ve served — were disrespected.

But patriotism should never be used as a weapon for hate.

Christ, Gandhi, Buddha … all would say to extend grace to Lindsey, yet these angry protesters have used this as a gateway for their own malice.

In the quest to expose the intention of a (captionless) photo, many of these folks have left no doubt about what exists in their wicked hearts.

And to what end? What does it buy them? What do they gain?

Here are just a few examples of what I found on the Facebook page.

Glen – line up 3000 male and female soldiers and give them a baseball bat and let them use it as a dildo and do to her what she’s saying to our dead heros!!!!

John – She is fat and fucking pathetic…..Liberal cunt. I hope she has nothing but still births.

Scott – If this ankle was worthy of the Stone family name she’d throw herself in front of a fast moving Amtrak train!!! (ankle: something that’s about 3 feet lower than a c*nt)

Ken – whore

Marty – SCREW this incompetent disrespectful ignorant horses ASS!!!!!!!!….FIRE HER NOW!!!!!!…….After all those BRAVE Soldiers stand for and endure, and to be mocked by a grimy slut like her!!……..ship her OUT!!!

Tim – Charge her with treason

J.j.  – JUST STONE THE BITCH…………………..

Robert  – Not only does she need to be fired, she needs to have her ass kicked publicly!

Robert – I heard she voted for Obama…

Andrew  – choke and die you humorless ass

What a sad day.

As for me: I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has strengthened me, because He considered me faithful, putting me into service, even though I was formerly a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent aggressor. Yet I was shown mercy because I acted ignorantly in unbelief; and the grace of our Lord was more than abundant, with the faith and love which are found in Christ Jesus. It is a trustworthy statement, deserving full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, among whom I am foremost of all. – I Timothy 1:12-15

5 thoughts on “Stoning Lindsey Stone

  1. David Alvey says:

    I hope most vets would agree we served to protect the right of people to flip off a sign. I’m fine if you burn the flag even though it makes my blood boil and hurts me to see it. I’m fine if you refuse to take your hat off during the national anthem even though I teach my boys better manners. These are all merely symbols of our freedom…they should never be more important than our freedoms. That would be the real tragedy and IMO a true disrepect tot he honor of those who fought and died for Lindsey Stone’s right to make an obscene gesture as her freedom of expression. And I am chief among sinners. I need all the grace I can get.

  2. Mike R. says:

    Foxnews.com is now reporting that the two people involved have been terminated from their employment. Good, bad, or indifferent, actions have consequences. Hopefully these two have learned from their actions.

  3. Timothy Samples says:

    Thank you Susan, well said! We all have done stupid things, (I certainly have) but I have also paid for those stupid things and I have to live with it. God has forgiven me and yes I probably still do stupid things as well, especially in other people’s minds who are quick to judge and look at the speck in someone else’s eyes but refuses to see the logy in their own eyes.
    I appreciate all that you and Mark do to keep sensibility (as much as possible in this senseless world) going over the airways. Thank you for the careful thoughts y’all make before speaking what needs to be said. God bless you both.

  4. Rebecca H says:

    Don’t know if it is relevent, but think that it is. Go see “Life of Pi”. Incredible, seems to have an answer for everything and nothing all at once.

Leave a Reply

